Western Sydney local governments will share $220 million in funding thanks to a major investment by the NSW Liberal and Nationals Government to repair roads damaged by unprecedented rain.

Member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies said Western Sydney councils such as Penrith, Liverpool and Camden would receive funding in days for immediate repairs.

“This funding from the NSW Government is a crucial step towards ensuring that the roadways in Western Sydney are safe and reliable for our communities. The damaging rain events over the past 12 months have caused significant damage, but with this investment, we can make the necessary repairs to get our roads back in shape,” Mrs Davies said.

“The roads in Western Sydney are the lifeblood of our communities, connecting us to our jobs, homes, and loved ones. The rain has tested the resilience of our roadways but with this funding, we are sending a clear message that we are committed to rebuilding and strengthening our infrastructure for the future.”

Minister for Metropolitan Roads Natalie Ward said thirty-five metropolitan councils will share $220 million in funding.

“We have listened to the call from Councils for help to deal with the backlog of road damage caused by repeated weather events over the last 12 months,” Mrs Ward said.

“Through this funding, councils can act now on urgent road and pothole repairs, as well as protect against reoccurring challenges through the use of technology such as cold mix.

“These works are in addition to the work our crews carry out on state roads, with more than 22,500 potholes repaired and more than one million square metres of road re-sheeted on Sydney state roads in the past 12 months.”

The $220 million is part of the $500 million Regional and Local Road Repair Program and is in addition to $25 million made available last year for flood-affected councils and the $1.5 billion spent annually by the NSW Government on maintenance of state roads.

Funding is shared between the thirty-five state councils based on the proportion of overall roads managed within Metropolitan areas in NSW.