Nominations are officially open for the 2024 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government, celebrating the exceptional achievements and contributions of women within councils across NSW.

Tanya Davies MP, Member for Badgerys Creek, said the awards provide a platform to honour women in Local Government.

“From councillors to council staff, there are women in our community who are working tirelessly towards enhancing the lives of the people and communities they serve,” Mrs Davies stated.

Shadow Minister for Local Government Wendy Tuckerman said in NSW, countless women play pivotal roles in local government.

“These awards are an opportunity to recognise the women who are on the ground at Council. Women who are enriching the fabric of their communities, making them more vibrant places for everyone to live, work, and thrive,” Mrs Tuckerman said.

Established in 2008, the Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government recognise the remarkable efforts of women at the grassroots level of government, spanning both metropolitan and regional/rural councils.

The award categories encompass separate accolades for metropolitan and regional/rural councils, including county councils and joint organisations. The categories open for nomination are:

  • Alternative Pathways Award: Recognising a female staff member who challenges gender stereotypes.
  • Champion of Change Award: Honouring a male and a female general manager or senior manager who have demonstrated outstanding support for women’s participation within their councils.
  • Elected Representative Award: Acknowledging a female councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives.
  • Employment Diversity Award: Commending a successful council program aimed at increasing female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level.
  • Woman of Distinction Award: Celebrating a woman who showcases exceptional innovation, integrity, initiative, or positive influence on others.
  • Young Achiever’s Award: Highlighting an outstanding female staff member (including trainees and apprentices) aged 25 and under.

Nominations for the 2024 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government close on Friday, 14 June 2024. To submit a nomination, please visit OLG.nsw.gov.au